In 1864. John Wheeley Lea endowed an almshouse in Infirmary Walk for six poor women, and adjoining, defrayed the cost of erecting a school for St. Nicholas parish. The cost was around £2,000, The six houses were in a charming gothic style in brick, with bath stone facings, the red brick walls decorated with black bricks, indicating the arches and doors. Each house has a gable, and the roof is steep-ridged with ornamental ridge tiles. The doorways are gothic and the windows have cast-iron, loxenge shaped frames. Henry Rowe was the architect, and O. Wilson the contractor. The site was in proximity to the 'Wheeley Gardens'.
Born Feckenham 8th May 1791 - died Worcester 23rd March 1874