In early times St. Peter's Church was known as 'the Great' to distinguish it from 'St. Peter the Little' , which was a chapel at the royal castle of Worcester. In the 1830's it was picturesque, but in a ruinous condition.
It was demolished in 1838, and a new 'Commissioners' church was built with the aid of a Government grant. This was designed, in brick, by the Worcester architect, John Mills, in the early Victorian Gothic style so much despised by later Victorians, who regarded it as 'the ugliest church in the City'. It is a typical 'prattling box' of the period, with had few decorative features, but it held a lot of people.
The tombs from the old church were put into the spacious crypt, which like most of the City churches in the 19th century, was a charnel house.